28 June 2012

Wolves Remain in Midwest as AHL Alters Division Alignment

AHL Division Alignment.

The Chicago Wolves will stay in the American Hockey League’s Midwest Division after the 30-team league re-aligned its two conference, six-division format for the 2012-13 season.

The Wolves will compete against one new rival in the five-team Midwest Division - the Grand Rapids Griffins - and three traditional foes: the Milwaukee Admirals, Peoria Rivermen, and Rockford IceHogs.

The Western Conference also features five rivals from the North Division: the Abbotsford Heat, Hamilton Bulldogs, Lake Erie Monsters, Rochester Americans and Toronto Marlies. The newly created South Division features five squads: the Charlotte Checkers, Houston Aeros, Oklahoma City Barons, San Antonio Rampage and Texas Stars.

The 2012-13 AHL regular-season schedule and the format for the 2013 Calder Cup Playoffs, will be released later this summer. For information on tickets or group outings, call 1-800-THE-WOLVES or visit chicagowolves.com.

Western Conference

Midwest Division

North Division

South Division

Chicago (Vancouver)

Abbotsford (Calgary)

Charlotte (Carolina)

Grand Rapids (Detroit)

Hamilton (Montreal)

Houston (Minnesota)

Milwaukee (Nashville)

Lake Erie (Colorado)

Oklahoma City (Edmonton)

Peoria (St. Louis)

Rochester (Buffalo)

San Antonio (Florida)

Rockford (Chicago)

Toronto (Toronto)

Texas (Dallas)

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Northeast Division

East Division

Manchester (LA)

Adirondack (Philadelphia)

Binghamton (Ottawa)

Portland (Phoenix)

Albany (New Jersey)

Hershey (Washington)

Providence (Boston)

Bridgeport (NY Islanders)

Norfolk (Anaheim)

St. John’s (Winnipeg)

Connecticut (NY Rangers)

Syracuse (Tampa Bay)

Worcester (San Jose)

Springfield (Columbus)

W-B/Scranton (Pittsburgh)

Note: NHL affiliate indicated in parentheses.